Gene Clark - Gene Clark (White Light) Vinyl

Gene Clark - Gene Clark (White Light) Vinyl

Normale prijs
Normale prijs
Inclusief btw


Label: Sundazed Music Inc.

2011 Reissue



White Light, aka Gene Clark, is the second solo album by Gene Clark, former member of The Byrds. It only achieved commercial success in the Netherlands, where rock critics also voted it album of the year.

Clark's backing band on the album included producer and guitarist Jesse Ed Davis, bassist Chris Ethridge of the Flying Burrito Brothers, organist Michael Utley, along with pianist Ben Sidran and drummer Gary Mallaber, both of the Steve Miller Band.

Music critic Thom Jurek, writing for AllMusic, wrote the album "has established itself as one of the greatest singer/songwriter albums ever made... Using melodies mutated out of country, and revealing that he was the original poet and architect of the Byrds' sound on White Light, Clark created a wide open set of tracks that are at once full of space, a rugged gentility, and are harrowingly intimate in places. His reading of Bob Dylan's "Tears of Rage", towards the end of the record rivals, if not eclipses, the Band's. Less wrecked and ravaged, Clark's song is more a bewildered tome of resignation to a present and future in the abyss. Now this is classic rock."



  • A
  • 1. The Virgin
  • 2. With Tomorrow
  • 3. White Light
  • 4. Because of You
  • 5. One In a Hundred
  • B
  • 6. Spanish Guitar
  • 7. Where My Love Lies Asleep
  • 8. Tears of Rage
  • 9. 1975


EAN Code: 090771534514