Plainsong - In Search of Amelia Earhart Vinyl

Plainsong - In Search of Amelia Earhart Vinyl

Normale prijs
Normale prijs
Inclusief btw


Label: Vinyl Lovers

2017 Reissue

180 Gram Vinyl


Country Rock / Folk


In Search of Amelia Earhart is the 1972 debut album by Plainsong. It was released on October 6, 1972 by Elektra Records.[2][3][4]

Plainsong was a British country rock/folk rock band, formed in early 1972 by Ian (later Iain) Matthews, formerly of Fairport Convention and Matthews Southern Comfort, and Andy Roberts, previously of The Liverpool Scene. The band's line-up consisted of Matthews, Roberts, Dave Richards (died January 2019) and Bob Ronga (died November 2012). The original group lasted basically a year, splitting up in December 1972. Ronga had already left the band by then due to a drinking problem and Matthews and Richards did not see eye to eye over their musical direction during the recording of a planned second album, the unissued Plainsong III. Both Matthews and Roberts resumed making solo albums in 1973 following Plainsong's demise.

Ian Matthews played in four different band incarnations within three years. He had left Fairport Convention to form his own band, Matthews Southern Comfort, put out two solo LPs for Vertigo Records, and then started the band Plainsong. It is probably fair to say that In Search of Amelia Earhart is the pinnacle of Matthews' work in the 1970s. Working with producer Sandy Roberton (Hard Meat, Steeleye Span, Shirley Collins), Ian and bandmates, notably Andy Roberts who shared vocals on the album, created an atypical British folk album conceived around the idea of the legends surrounding Amelia Earhart and her supposed demise. Both Matthews and Roberts had read the 1966 book The Search for Amelia Earhart[5][6] by CBS news correspondent Fred Goerner hypothesizing that Earhart and her flying companion Frederick Noonan had crashed around the Japanese held Marshall Islands area and been taken prisoner by the Japanese on Saipan, in the Marianas, in 1937. Their Lockheed Electra plane had supposedly been outfitted with aerial cameras and had a bigger fuel tank than anyone outside of the US government knew. After being grilled by Japanese interrogators Earhart would perish of dysentery, and Noonan was beheaded by the Japanese according to this still unproven theory.

The album at the time was widely perceived as being a concept album, but not all of the songs on the album are directly about Amelia Earhart. But the album carries that somber, mellow tone in which so much great folk music of the early ’70s was in touch. Many of the songs are about seeing and reaching for light, whether they be the light of day or the light of death. So in a way the album is more about the way people felt about, cared about and thought about Amelia Earhart and her death. That she is still considered a heroine of aviation and a distinctly American hero keeps the mystery of what happened to her in the greater cultural imagination.


  • A:
  • 1. For the Second Time
  • 2. Yo Yo Man
  • 3. Louise
  • 4. Call the Tune
  • 5. Diesel on My Tail
  • 6. Amelia Earhart's Last Flight
  • B:
  • 7. I'll Fly Away
  • 8. True Story of Amelia Earhart
  • 9. Even the Guiding Light
  • 10. Side Roads
  • 11. Raider


EAN Code: 0889397901202