Normale prijs
Normale prijs
Inclusief btw

4-CD Holland
Dance / Soul
Mediabook, Limited Edition
To say that Aretha Franklin was one of the greatest American artists of all time is an understatement. Her multi-octave voice moved millions around the world during an unrivalled career that spanned six decades and garnered the singer-songwriter every achievement and honour imaginable. Her reign as the Queen of Soul will play out across four discs on a new boxed set from Rhino that is the first to span her entire career, including songs from every label she recorded with.

Among this collection’s 81 newly remastered tracks, 19 are making their debut, including alternate versions of classic hits, demos, rarities, and live tracks, like her stunning performance of “(You Make Me Feel) Like A Natural Woman” at The 38th Annual Kennedy Center Honors in 2015. To put Franklin’s life and career into perspective, the collection is accompanied by liner notes written by Rochelle Riley, author and director of arts and culture for the City of Detroit, and David Nathan, founder and historian who interviewed Franklin more times than any other living writer. The collection also features stunning artwork by celebrated artist Makeba KEEBS Rainey, who provides her signature style to a classic portrait of the Queen of Soul by renowned photographer Neal Preston.

Even for long-time fans, ARETHA delivers plenty of surprises. Prime examples are the numerous unreleased work tapes and demos for hits like “Angel,” “Until You Come Back To Me” and “Brand New Me.” The set also features the debut of several television appearances, including duets with Tom Jones (“It’s Not Unusual/See Saw”), Smokey Robinson (“Ooo Baby Baby”) and Dionne Warwick (“I Say A Little Prayer.”) Finally, the collection rounds up rarities like her cover of Donny Hathaway’s “Someday We’ll All Be Free” from the Malcom X soundtrack and her jaw-dropping live performance of “Nessun Dorma.”


- 1 -
1. Never Grow Old
2. You Grow Closer
3. Today I Sing the Blues
4. Won' T Be Long
5. Are You Sure
6. Operation Heartbreak
7. Skylark
8. Runnin' Out of Fools
9. One Step Ahead
10. (No, No) I' M Losing You
11. Cry Like a Baby
12. A Little Bit of Soul
13. My Kind of Town (Detroit is) (Demo)*
14. Try a Little Tenderness (Demo)*
15. I Never Loved a Man (the Way I Love You)
16. Do Right Woman (Do Right Man)
17. Respect
18. A Change is Gonna Come
19. Chain of Fools (Alternate Version)
20. (I Can' T Get No) Satisfaction (Uk Single Version)
21. (Sweet Sweet Baby) Since You've Been Gone
22. Ain' T No Way
23. My Song
24. You Send Me
25. The House That Jack Built
26. Tracks of My Tears
- 2 -
1. Baby I Love You (Live)
2. Son of a Preacher Man
3. Call Me (Alternate Version)*
4. Let It Be
5. Young, Gifted and Black (Alternate Longer Take)*
6. Bridge Over Troubled Water (Long Version)
7. It' S Not Unusual/See Saw (With Tom Jones)* (Originally Broa
8. You're All I Need To Get By (Work Tape)*
9. Brand New Me (Work Tape)*
10. Spanish Harlem (Alternate Mix)*
11. Rock Steady (Alternate Mix/Take)
12. Day Dreaming
13. Share Your Love With Me (Live)
14. Don' T Play That Song (Live)
15. Dr. Feelgood (Live)
16. Spirit In the Dark (Reprise With Ray Charles) (Live)
17. How I Got Over (Single Edit) (Live)
18. Master of Eyes (the Deepness of Your Eyes)
- 3 -
1. Somewhere (Alternate Version)*
2. Angel (Work Tape)*
3. The Boy From Bombay *
4. Til It's Over (Demo)*
5. Oh Baby (A.K.A. There's Something Magic About You) (Demo)*
6. Until You Come Back To Me (Work Tape)*
7. I' M In Love (Alternate Vocal)
8. Without Love
9. Mr. D.J. (5 For the D.J.)
10. You
11. Something He Can Feel
12. Look Into Your Heart
13. Break It To Me Gently
14. When I Think About You
15. Almighty Fire (Woman of the Future)
16. Ladies Only (Short Version)
17. You Light Up My Life *
18. Ooo Baby Baby (With Smokey Robinson)* (Originally Broadcast
19. Amazing Grace (Originally Broadcast On Royal Variety Perform
- 4 -
1. Think
2. I Say a Little Prayer (With Dionne Warwick)*
3. United Together
4. Jump To It
5. The Wind
6. Freeway of Love
7. Sisters Are Doin' It For Themselves (Eurythmics & Aretha Fra
8. I Knew You Were Waiting (For Me) (Aretha Franklin and George
9. Oh Happy Day (With Mavis Staples (Live At New Bethel Baptist
10. A Rose is Still a Rose
11. Someday We'll All Be Free
12. The Makings of You
13. Nessun Dorma (Live)
14. At Last (With Lou Rawls* (Originally Broadcast On American S
15. You' Ve Got a Friend (Ronald Isley Featuring Aretha Franklin
16. Rolling In the Deep (the Aretha Version)
17. My Country 'Tis of Thee
18. (You Make Me Feel Like) a Natural Woman (Live)*